Department of Political Science


The Department of Political Science is an eminent department of the institute established in 1973 with about 50 students and two faculty members. The Department was upgraded to a post-Graduate department in 1996 with about 80 students. Since then the combined strength of student in the department exceeded 700 approximately.

  • The Department is run by two grant-in aid and two self- finance faculties. The general focus of the department lies in teaching and learning through various academic and extension activities. The students are taught theroretically and practically in various theories and practical processes of political systems.
  • The emphasis of teaching lies in initiating the students in key processes of Indian political system such as, voting rights, secularism, community development, relevance of Gandhism in present political context etc.
  • Development of quality culture in the college.
  • Preparation of Annual Quality Assurance Report (AQAR) of the university as required by the quality assurance.

Director IQAC (Since 2013): Dr Dinesh Kumar Tripathi

Anurag Pandey
Dr. Ranjana Singh